Naughty Norman strikes again

I’m going away for a couple of nights.  I’m off to see the Lovely Nut (who also happens to be the mum of an ex boyfriend) and stay in her gorgeous house in the middle of a field.

Norman cat is not keen on me going anywhere – even with Sister 2 popping in to check on him – but he gets especially upset when I start packing a bag or suitcase.  So now I leave that part to the very last minute.  Last night I got a pile of clothes out ready to cover every eventuality  – it is a UK August bank holiday after all – and put them in a pile on my bedroom floor.

It seems Norman is far cleverer than I thought.  He often sleeps on top of my wardrobe and in the early hours of this morning he woke me up as he leant over the side of the wardrobe and…threw up onto my pile of clean, ready to be packed clothes.  Humph.

The clothes have now been washed and partially dried, and I’m off shortly with a backseat of slightly damp clothes.  Norman cat, you get a point, but you didn’t win completely :o)

The lovely house in the field

The lovely house in the field

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Tweet Tweet!

A few years ago I went on a training course through work.  It wasn’t one of those awful ones that you can’t wait to get out of – it was the sort you’d happily do again the next week. The trainers were great; they had us moving around, doing things and most importantly, they had us thinking rather than spouting information we were just supposed to absorb.

One of the things they made us do was decide how we felt about social media.  If you saw its value you went to one side of the room.  If you didn’t you went to the other.  I was the only one on my side of the room…against social media all on my own.

A year later I finally realised I was being a bit of a dinosaur and got a Facebook account.  Then I started my blog.  I kind of got the hang of things but wasn’t particularly revolutionary on the social media front.  Which is why it’s kind of funny that in the last few weeks I’ve started a new role in my old team – and I pushed for it.  My new role is:  Getting the group I work in engaged on our new social media type of intranet (I’m yet to get a job title.  I’m hoping it will be a bit more catchy than that.)  At the moment a lot of the group are next to that wall I stood at on my training course.  I just need to pull them to the other side.  The only small problem is that there are 22,000 of them.  Yes that is 22 THOUSAND.

It’s a bit of a challenge.  Especially when they are spread all over the world and I’ll be in just the one place.  But it has made me realise that I really need to make more of an effort with external social media so I can understand the big picture – it might help in understanding the work one more.  I’ve been looking at all sorts of things that are out there now, but the one I have avoided after a brief foray is Twitter.  I need to practice short, sharp writing and I need to understand exactly how it works so when I get that question ‘Is this work thing more Facebook, Twitter or Google Circles?’ again, I can answer with a bit more any authority.   I’m doing more research too, but this is the obvious one I can combine with the blog.

So for those of you that tweet, please will you come and play?  I’m @thepogblog.  I’ll post blog links, like I do on Facebook, but I’ll also try to post some of the little things that never make it to the blog.  See it as your special link to my brain.  Or perhaps that is more of a deterrent….  In time I may even work out how to interact with people on there, you never know.

And maybe, just maybe it will help me do a better job at work.  Because you know those 22,000 people?  They all need training by the end of the year!  :o/

Well, they tweet!

Well, they tweet!

Posted in Pog Life | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

I’ve got a brand new combine harvester…

…and I’ll give you the key!  (It’s a song, just in case that doesn’t translate outside of Bumpkinsville.)

OK, it’s not a combine harvester and you won’t be getting any key, but I do have brand new car!  It all happened a few weeks back but I didn’t think anyone would really be interested.  I had a complaint that I’d not mentioned it though, so here you go, John ;o)

Yes, the old, very old and falling apart Pog-mobile is no more.  Much to my amazement, someone bought it.  And to add another layer to that amazement, he didn’t want me to wash or clean it inside (both had needed doing for about nine months).  Apparently when you are a 17 year old boy the first clean of a first car is up there in the list of top 10 things to do.  That was fine by me :o)

So I sold that car 3 hours after landing from my holiday, and picked up my new one less than 24 hours later.  It’s red.  For anyone more into cars than me, it’s a Volkswagen Take Up.

I’ve never been great with driving a car I’m not used to.  To be honest, I’ve never been great at driving full stop, but it’s gone almost smoothly.  I’ve only been back to the garage three times.

1)     My lights wouldn’t turn off (turns out that they stay on all the time the car is on)

2)     My interior light wouldn’t go out (turns out that I just wasn’t giving it long enough)

3)     My petrol gauge was broken (turns out that I possibly have the most fuel efficient car in the world and it took over 80 miles for it to start registering that I’d used any petrol)

I don’t think they’re too keen on me at the garage right now.

I had a slightly unusual piece of advice from my sister’s partners when they inspected the car.  The hatchback bit is all glass rather than a window in a piece of metal.  ‘You’d better be careful with that’ they said.  So I must remember that erm…if I reverse into anything I do so slowly so as not to shatter it, I guess.

The most exciting though, is the fact that a little display now tells me when I should change gear.  My sisters have been right all these years in that I’ve not been changing gear much at all.  I’ve now realised that my default gear for the roads around here is 3rd.  The new Pogmobile informs me it should be 5th.

Now I just have to get used to the fact that my lights and window wiper sticks are on different sides to the old car.  It the moment, every time I flash my thanks, I just wash the windscreen instead :o)

The new and the old.  I had to sneak this photo when I took the spare key for the old car to it's new owner as I realised that I'd not got one picture of the poor old Pogmobile :o(

The new and the old. I had to sneak this photo when I took the spare key for the old car to it’s new owner as I realised that I’d not got one picture of the poor old Pog-mobile :o(

Posted in Pog Life | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Raspberry Vinegar – a recipe and a few Pog tips

Last year my aunt made me a bottle of the most amazing raspberry vinegar.  I managed to eek it out until a few weeks ago…and then discovered that you can’t buy the stuff – at least not in any of the big supermarkets (I’m sure there are fancy places, but I don’t tend to frequent many fancy places, so I wouldn’t know).  As luck would have it though, my cousin wanted one of the owl key rings I’ve been crocheting so we did a deal – a key ring for the recipe.

I’m proud to say that I have now made my first batch of raspberry vinegar.  It wasn’t without it’s issues but it is rather lovely, so I thought I’d share the recipes and the pitfalls (which to be fair, I may be the only one in the world to experience, but you never know…)  This is really good on salads, fish and anything I have cooked (as it disguises the flavour).  It’s also apparently good for tickly coughs and sore throats.

So here goes:

Raspberry Vinegar.  Makes about 1 litre (2 pints)

  • 450g (1lb) raspberries
  • 575 (1 pint) white wine or clear vinegar
  • 900g (2lb) sugar

 1)     Put the fruit into a bowl and crush lightly with the back of a spoon, Pour over the vinegar, cover and leave to stand for a week in a cool place.  Stir every other day.

Tip 1:  This is not something you can make in a few hours.  This is very disappointing when you think you’ll start and have a batch ready for your tea.

Tip 2: Leaving it in a shut microwave helps your house smell less like a chippy

2)     Use a jelly bag or line a sieve with some muslin and strain the vinegar through it.  Leave for at least an hour.

Tip 3: You can buy a jelly bag from a cooking / hardware type of shop.  I think they must have been made some years ago though as the instructions tell you to ‘suspend by the loops from a cup hook screwed to the underside of a shelf’.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t have any such hooks.  I’m not sure anyone has in the last decade or so.  Instead, I rigged up an interesting system of strings to my cupboard door handles.

Tip 4:  Once string system is in place, do not attempt to open the cupboard doors.  It’s messy.

3)     Pour into a measuring jug and take note of how much liquid you have.  Pour the vinegar into a saucepan and heat very gently.  Add 450g (1lb) of sugar for every 575ml (1 pint) of liquid.  Stir and continue to heat gently until it is dissolved.  Bring to a rapid boil and boil for 10 minutes.  Remove any scum if it appears.

Tip 5: Even with an extractor fan on and the windows and the front door and backdoor open, at the point your house will start to smell like a chippy.  So will you.

4)     While the vinegar is boiling sterilise your bottles by washing, then putting upside down or on their side in a moderate oven for 5 minutes.  Put the lids in a bowl of boiling water.

Tip 6: The recipe says it will make around two pints.  Only having enough bottles to house 1 pint is clearly not going to work.  This will result in a panic around step 5) as you realise that no, you can’t squeeze the extra in and you are going to have to either drink a pint or empty out a heap of bottles that have been in the back of your cupboard with a best before date of 2007 and sterilise them pretty fast.

Tip 7:  When you sterilise a bottle that has one of those fancy stoppers attached to it, check what the fancy stopper is made of.  If you rest it against the glass and it is plastic, it will melt and no longer carry out its stoppering duties.

5)     Use the funnel pour the vinegar into your hot bottles and….

Tip 6:  If the recipe you have is a photocopy of a ripped newspaper cutting and you can’t read some of it, call someone before you get to the ripped bit to find out what it might have said.  I didn’t.  I improvised with ‘and do a little dance’.

6)     And……two weeks before using.  Because of the boiling it should last several months if stored in a cool dark place.

Tip 7:  See tip 6.  I think the missing bit  here might be something about leaving it to stand.  On the grounds it might not have said that though, I had some with some goats cheese on toast before it had even cooled let alone done any standing (mainly because despite finding and extra three bottles I still had some left over that I couldn’t bring myself to pour away).

It wasn’t as good as my aunt’s but it’s pretty good.  And the colour is amazing.  So pretty in fact that Sister 1 thought it was bubble bath when I gave her a bottle.  I did set her straight, although it was tempting to see how far she’d get before she realised it wasn’t :o)

So there you go – try it for yourself if you fancy.  You can use other fruits too – the recipe suggest cherry, blackcurrant, blackberry and gooseberry.  At least if you follow my tips it should be a slightly smoother process for you than it was for me!  :o)

Ta Da!  (it doesn't really do the colour justice.  And yea, I have used that much in 2 days)

Ta Da! (it doesn’t really do the colour justice. And yes, I have used that much in 2 days)

Posted in Cooking | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Four legged frolics

I wrote a long start to this post, but I just deleted it.  Instead, my introduction is that I have been feeling the need to be needed more and more lately.  I realise that’s pretty much selfish, but there you go.  The two legged options in relation to that need don’t seem likely, so the next best plan: an animal.

I thought a lot.  Then I thought I’d be really sensible and go and speak to my vet about the possibility of this, bearing in mind Norman.  Don’t get me wrong here – Norman is a fantabulous furball, but he only needs me on his terms.  I kind of need more.

The vet said that a dog would integrate far better with Norman than another cat.  The issue is that Norman hasn’t been in close contact with dogs so how on earth did we work out if it was a reasonable option?  My vet looks after both Sister’s dogs so knows them all well.  He suggested that I borrow Lola, Sister 1’s calmest dog, for a weekend, keep everyone inside and see what happened.  The massive benefit to this plan is that I could hand Lola back straight away should it all go pear shaped.

I couldn’t quite face a weekend or keeping everyone inside as Norman would have been restricted in where he could feel safe.  So yesterday Lola came over for the day.

Within five minutes of arriving back at Pog Towers, I had to call Sister 1 to find out if I needed to get Lola to the vet as she’d eaten both of my ear plugs (I didn’t- they’re just the foam ones and she’d eaten them before apparently).  Then Lola and Norman met.  Norman puffed himself to at least three times his size, flew down the garden and spent the morning on next door’s shed roof, watching the intruder.  The intruder then broke two of my sunflowers, knocked over and emptied my bin and trampled over my rockery.

Be scared Lola,  I get bigger!

‘Be scared Lola, I get bigger!’

Things calmed down a little.  I got on with work, Norman got on with sitting on the shed roof and Lola got on with sniffing every centimetre of the house and garden, before taking over Normans favourite spot.

Spot the Norman

Spot the Norman

'No wonder Norman loves this spot.  It's just about perfect.'

‘No wonder Norman loves this spot. It’s just about perfect.’

At lunch time Lola and I went for a walk.  It was lovely – we saw horses, a donkey, a woodpecker and rabbits.  And I discovered that Lola doesn’t do stiles.  In fact, the only way we could get home (other than turning around and retracing most of our walk) was for me to lift her over the stile.  It’s more tricky than I thought to hold a beagle while climbing over a wobbly wooden structure…

We got home I could hear a cat crying – it turned out it was Norman was sitting on the other side of the big fence at the end of my garden, covered in cobwebs and undergrowth… I persuaded him back into the garden and had a slightly surreal hour where I sat on a teleconference and Lola and Norman sat about six feet from each other, just staring.  I don’t know if that is progress or if both were just planning the imminent demise of the other.  In case it was the latter, I took Lola home as soon as work allowed.

Norman has of course been seriously needy ever since.  I was bought a ‘gift’ last night and this morning, and other than that he’s not left my side.  So now I need to decide whether I try another Norman / Lola meeting to see if building up gradually will help (as all the internet sites say), or if Norman and I are both better off with just each other.  Sometimes four legged issues seem as complicated as two legged issues! :o)

And back to normal today...

And back to normal today…

Posted in animals, Pog Life | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Lucky me!

I officially have the most amazing sisters.  This time it is Sister 1.

While juggling the four month old Little Pea, 3 dogs and two teeny puppies (so that’s a baby and FIVE dogs, just to be clear), she decided that Sister 2 and I don’t eat that well in the evenings (she’d right; we’re both pretty rubbish at making any sort of effort).  So she arrived earlier with homemade shepherd’s pies.  One for each of us!  So we both had amazing dinners tonight and both have two spare meals for the freezer.

I really am one very lucky Pog :o)

pie

Posted in Cooking | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

A remedy for….something

Yesterday I coughed into the ear of a colleague almost consistently for half an hour.  To set the scene a little more accurately, the colleague in question was in America and we were on a teleconference, so it wasn’t quite as bad as it sounds – but it clearly annoyed her as much as me.  Soon after the meeting she kindly sent me an e-mail saying:

 Home remedy for cough:  It tastes a bit nasty but it works wonders –add ginger, honey, turmeric ( 1/3 teaspoon) to boiling water and drink away.

You can put two/three spoons of honey ( it just makes this concoction bearable), ginger (a small chunk about half an inch will do), 1/3 teaspoon of turmeric( otherwise it gets very strong- both color and taste wise)

Sincerely,

Queen of Home Remedies  :o)

I thanked her, told her if I died it was up to her to explain to people and got the response:

My tip also comes with a Surgeon General’s warning: try at your own risk.
:o) Feel better

So today I discovered I had everything needed in my cupboard and thought I should try it out.  I was fed up with the cough and I was really touched that someone I’ve never met and only spoken to a handful of times would take the time to try to help me.  It wasn’t like I’d really die…

…I nearly died.  It does work, I admit.  But only in the sense that you stop breathing for what feels like a good 10 minutes so you can’t cough.  And then you can’t move for a few hours for fear of being sick. 

Actually, I think it has helped a bit.  If I did it again, it would probably help more, but I really can’t face it.  I may never be able to eat anything containing turmeric again.  Or even look at anything that colour.  I think it’s safe to say that this remedy may help, but it does come with a good dose of trauma! :o)

prettier than a picture of the evil remedy

prettier than a picture of the evil remedy

 

Posted in Pog Life | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Secret Baker – Cookie Recipe. And a thing about a chicken.

A friend on Facebook suggested after I posted yesterday that I should share the recipe of the cookies I made in some of my Secret Baker exploits.

Now in doing this I am letting you into a secret which somewhat detracts from my secret baker status, as they are the easiest things in the world to make, but they taste good, so have a go.

 Ingredients:

(sorry, I’m old school so these are all in old measurements)

  • 4oz butter (or margarine)
  • 4oz muscavado sugar
  • 6oz self-raising flour
  • 1 tablespoon golden syrup
  • ½ beaten egg (this is a bit pesky, but you could make double and have lots of cookies or put half the mixture in the freezer.)
  • 1 pack of chocolate drops

All you do is:

  1. Throw the butter and sugar in a bowl and whizz them together with a mixer until they are…mixed.
  2. Then throw in the flour, golden syrup and egg and whizz them until it all looks like a cake mix. (If you do this a bit at a time you’ll spend less time cleaning afterwards as the flour will pouf everywhere if you do it in one go.  I always forget that.)
  3. Mix in the chocolate drops
  4. Spoon teaspoons of the mixture onto a baking sheet and cook for about 10 minutes at about 200C.  As soon as the edges start browning keep an eye on them as they go from ‘golden’ to ‘only fit for the bin’ very fast.

And that’s it.  You can swap the chocolate drops for just about anything.  I’ve done:

  • Peanut butter (1 huge tablespoon for the above quantities)
  • Sultanas and orange zest
  • Cranberries and white chocolate
  • Those pretend orange chocolate buttons you get in the home baking aisle at the supermarket
  • Smarties (great for kids and the cookies come out quite colourful)

And maybe if you make them, you could take a batch to where you work and spread the smiles with me?  :o)

And in other news (Facebook friends will have already seen this), I noticed today that someone had landed on my blog today after looking up the weirdest search term.  As I said on Facebook, I’m not sure whether to worry more about the individual or the fact that they were directed here!  This is a screen shot of what I saw:

ew

I am hoping that they were actually looking for a specific variety of male chicken.  I hope. :o)

Posted in Cooking, Pog Life | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Secret Baker update

When I was at primary school, I was very jealous of Emma.  Whenever Emma was poorly, her mum would take a z-bed (that’s what we called posh camp beds in the early 80’s) into their lounge with Emma’s duvet and pillow so she could watch tv while she got better.

Our mum had a slightly different view.  If we were poorly enough to miss school, we were too poorly to get up, so we stayed in bed (and in those days nobody had tvs in their bedroom).

This was a cunning plan as it ensured neither of my sisters or I ever attempted a sickie from school – it was just too boring!  And the ethos seems to have stayed with us – I don’t think any of us have ever taken a day off work sick unless we’ve not been able to stay upright and conscious (not that I’m suggesting Emma is any different – she has three small children now so I imagine even being sick at weekends is a no-no for her!)

The reason I’m telling you this though is that I got one of those stupid colds on Friday that made me hot and sweaty, feel like I’d eaten glass and made my nose run so much I considered inserting a tampon up each nostril.  That was probably more information than you needed.  Sorry about that.

With ‘just a cold’ though (this doesn’t even class as being ill in mum’s book) we have been well trained to get on with things.  So Saturday I cleaned, cooked the most un-cake Iike cake I have ever made and did some shopping.  Sunday I cut back most of my garden, re-sewed the hems on a shirt I’d forgotten to finish properly and made over 100 peanut butter cookies (I repeatedly washed my hands etc and made sure no germs could get into the cooking, before you think it…)

And the reason for the cookies was because I’d not done any secret baker-ing for July and I didn’t want to miss a month just for the sake of a cold.  I felt rubbish at 4.30am on Monday but thought by the time I got to the office and had woken up I might feel better.  I didn’t, but I got the best medicine possible….

I put out the cookies with my usual note (a slightly panicky one this time as it didn’t dawn on me until I was typing it that some people might be allergic to nuts and I didn’t want any cases of anaphylactic shock on my conscience) and went to my desk.  When it’s quiet I can just hear people talking in the kitchen from where I sit and I overheard something that went a bit like this:

Lady voice: ‘The baker person is back!’ (June’s secret baker-ing had been at the start of the month so there had been a big gap)

Man voice: ‘oooh…mumble mumble’

Lady voice:’ I wish I knew who it was so I could say thank you’

I don’t know who the lady was (there are a few hundred people on my floor) but she has already got her thanks to me…and made me feel smiley inside all day.  Even though I was still full of snot.  Had been the sort of person to take to my bed, I’d never have made the cookies or heard the conversation.  Maybe mum did know best after all :o)

cookiesPS:  I called the vet today about Daisy, the cat I mentioned in my last blog post.  Sadly, she was put down at the weekend :o(  I’ve arranged to take a card for her owner to the vets so that it can be passed on.

Posted in Cooking | Tagged , , , , | 3 Comments

Animals, the big, the little and the electronic

We went to the vets today, me and Norman.  Just to be clear, unlike the time I had a bike crash and got the vet to check me over, this time Norman was the only patient.  It was just for a vaccination but we’d not been for a year so he was weighed.  It seems that what I thought was fat fur is actually just fat.  Half of his body weight again compared to last year to be exact.  So Norman is now on a diet and I am on a guilt trip.

Fat fur or fatness?  Norman is really not bothered either way.

Fat fur or fatness? Norman is really not bothered either way.

I seem to be slightly obsessed with animals at the moment.  First, it was watching the geckos at night on holiday, while they had territory wars over who caught moths from which part of the wall (incidentally, they make noises like teeny, tiny chickens.  And no, I wasn’t drunk.).

Then I got all upset when Norman woke me up earlier this week with a petrified frog.  They cry, I swear.  It almost made me cry while I took him somewhere peaceful and out of the way of paws as it was clear that froggy was not long for this world thanks to Norman.

Before we were called in at the vets today I asked a very sad looking lady in the waiting room if she was ok.  She burst into tears – her cat Daisy is very poorly and was being referred to the Royal Veterinary College in London.  One look at Daisy and I almost started crying too.  So we sat together chatting about all things feline and I rubbed her back when she cried (how is that supposed to help?  And what instinct makes you do it?  It’s weird.)  She has given the vet permission to let me know how Daisy gets on so I’ll call on Monday.  Paws crossed.

And finally, there is the penguin.  Years ago a friend bought me a noise activated penguin back from Asia.  It barks (?!), dances and lights up.  It was very kind but drove me bonkers so I stuck it in a cupboard.  A few nights ago it fell out of the cupboard and miraculously, it still works.  Unfortunately I have no idea where the instructions are on how to turn the damn thing off, so I hid him under a bag of chocolate biscuits in the cupboard.  He still did his barking though – so much so that Norman heard him and started trying to get in the cupboard.  And the noise of that started the penguin barking again…and so on.  In the end, I stuck a giant Toblerone (the obligatory one you have to buy at duty free on the way home from holiday) and two bags of jelly sweets on top of the biscuits and the noise eventually stopped.  Only now all of that sweet loveliness is out of bounds unless I want to set the penguin off again.  It looks like it’s not just Norman on a diet now :o)

Oh, and finally, finally, I can’t finish an animal based post without showing you the two, four week old hippos puppies currently residing with Sister 1, her husband, Little Pea and her three other dogs (two of which are the parents to the hippos puppies).  Sister 1 doesn’t really do things by halves!  :o)

pups

And finally, finally, finally:

cat

Have a lovely weekend :o)

Posted in animals, Pog Life | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments